Homemade Peanut Butter Banana Cups

OH. MY. GOD.

Stop what you are doing right now and make these delicious peanut butter banana cups! Seriously. They were a bit labor intensive, but SO worth it. I may never be able to eat Reese’s ever again, which is probably a good thing.

Check out the original recipe at Chocolate Covered Katie! Great alternatives and substitutions for a healthy lifestyle! I’m not sure my taste buds can ever thank her enough! 😉

My version is probably not as healthy, but, oh, boy, is it delicious.

Peanut Butter Banana Cups
Makes about 18 cups.

20130725-150052.jpg

18 standard cupcake liners
1 ripe banana, mashed well
6-8 tablespoons natural creamy peanut butter (I used Kirkland brand- just peanuts and salt)
1 cup (approx.) semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided into 1/4 cups. (I’m sure you could use milk or dark as well)

1. Set half of the liners on a plate or tray that will easily fit in your freezer.
2. Melt 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips in the microwave. Be careful not to burn the chocolate! I usually do 30 seconds, stir, then 30 more seconds, and stir well.
3. With a small spoon, spread a teaspoon or so of the chocolate on the bottom of about half the liners. Create a flat, even bottom, as best you can.
4. Put the liners in the freezer, and chill 8-10 minutes.
5. While the chocolate is chilling, mash the banana and mix in the peanut butter well.
6. Prepare the other half of the liners and follow steps 2-4 for those liners.
7. Take out the first batch of chilled liners, and spoon about a tablespoon of the banana mixture into each. Spread somewhat evenly over the chocolate.
8. Prepare another 1/4 cup of chocolate in the microwave.
9. Spoon about a tablespoon of the chocolate on top of the banana mixture, and spread evenly, making sure you get the chocolate in all the nooks and crannies!
10. Put cups back in the freezer and chill until set. Store in the freezer.
11. Follow steps 7-10 for the second chilled batch of liners.

Serving Size: 1 peanut butter banana cup. Calories: 86. Fat: 5.8g. Sugars: 5.2g. Protein: 1.8g. Sodium: 33.3mg. Potassium: 25mg.

I found it was easier to do this in stages, otherwise the chocolate gets cool and hard to manipulate. Depending on your taste, you may need to add more chocolate, or filling! I also ended up filling a couple with just peanut butter to see how they turned out. I’m sure you could do all kinds of fun and tasty fillings!

20130725-150209.jpg

20130725-150222.jpg

In other news, I learned that spending 4 hours cooking and cleaning burns a lot of calories! Yay for that! I did wake up pretty darn tired this morning though, after yesterday’s extravaganza in the kitchen. I really, really didn’t want to work out. Really.

But you know what? I put on those tennis shoes and went down to the gym anyway. Am I still tired? Yes, but now I won’t feel so bad about taking that nap I wanted!

Now go make those peanut butter cups! Trust me, you’ll be glad you did!

Leave a Reply

